Meet the Team: In Depth

Kailey Carlson

Children's Ministry Director

Favorite Flix:

As cheesy as it sounds I really like animated movies, even before I had kids, now that's all that's ever on in our house! I also really like the Greatest Showman!

What's on TV:

This is Us, New Amsterdam, The Big Bang Theory, I used to love to watch Criminal Minds and the like before Jase started traveling so much, now I'm too scared.

What I'm Reading:

Goodness, I haven't read an entire book in 4.5 years I don't think! I used to love a good romance novel though, Hunger Games was also a good series I read.

My Happy Place:

Hands down a beach.

Favorite Sports Teams:

I am 100% a fair-weather fan so I'd have to just go with the Pittsburgh teams.

Favorite Eats:

Chocolate, really most sweets but chocolate and PB rank the highest, Mac N cheese, I also really enjoy kielbasa.

When I'm Not Working:

Having littles, much of my time is spent with them or doing something that revolves around them. I will say in 2020 I started running (slowly) and while it's not my favorite it is nice to have that quiet time alone. I also really enjoy riding my bike, which I don't do often enough.

Favorite Quote:

“'For I know the plans I have for you,' declares the Lord, 'plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.'” Jeremiah 29:11

Favorite Part of my Job:

The kiddos, it is so fun to be with them on a regular basis. I hope they enjoy their time with me as much as I enjoy my time with them.

A Little More:

I grew up in Jefferson Hills and attended this church throughout my childhood. I went away for college (well for 1 year) to Coastal Carolina and then came home and finished school at Pitt. I actually have a Marketing Degree and worked in sales for 5 years before starting to work here. I always wanted to work with kids and envisioned owning a childcare faculty or preschool. Jason and I got married here in June 2012 and met Mark shortly after. We both grew up in this church, so it holds a special place in our hearts, but at the time there weren't many people our age attending. We said we would give "this new guy" one year and see how it goes and here we are 9 years later! We have two kiddos Ellie and Liam and a silver lab named Paisley. We currently live in South Park. Pre kiddos Jase and I really enjoyed riding our bikes and look forward to being able to do that again as the kids get older. I'm happiest in warm weather particularly on a beach, but not playing in the sand, I HATE the sand. Obviously I play in the sand I have kids, but it doesn't mean I like it!